I hope she sees me twirling…

Some lyrics:

I think I’ll fall in love
And now she’s falling off her stool
It’s not me she’s thinking of
But I’m her little fool
And she’s my Helen of Troy.

-FB, “Chip Away Boy”

so of my stupid sincere youth
the exquisite failure uncouth
discovers a trembling and smooth
Unstrength, against the strong
silences of your song;

but my heart smote in trembling thirds
of anguish quivers to your words,
As to a flight of thirty birds
shakes with a thickening fright
the sudden fooled light.

– E.E. Cummings, Songs, “II”

And Randy Newman:

You’re welcome.

Leave a Reply

